Selenium2library does not load

I tried a first mini test script from a tutorial and the setting of selenium2library does not load (or whatever).

*** Settings ***
Library selenium2library

I am new to this and I checked many questions and websites to this issue but … I simply do not find a solution. What is my error, what is missing?

Thank you very much for helping.

Configuration and versions:

Windows 10
Python 2.7.14
PyCharm Community 2017.3
IntelliBot Version 0.10.143.381
pip 9.0.1 from c:\python27\lib\site-packages (python 2.7)
Robot Framework 3.2.2 (Python 2.7.14 on win32)

pip list:
pip (9.0.1)
robotframework (3.2.2)
robotframework-pythonlibcore (2.2.1)
robotframework-selenium2library (3.0.0)
robotframework-seleniumlibrary (4.5.0)
selenium (3.141.0)
setuptools (28.8.0)
urllib3 (1.26.3)

Geckodriver for Firefox:
geckodriver is in C:\bin and environment variable is set as geckodriver.

The pictures shows the mini script with the error in the settings line.
pycharm_selenium2library_fehler

First off, do not use “Selenium2Library” - it is nothing but a wrapper that installs SeleniumLibrary. If tutorial is pointing you to use that, its seriously outdated.

1. Replace “Library Selenium2Library” with “Library SeleniumLibrary”.
  2. Ensure that you have more than one space between “OpenBrowser”, your url and “Firefox”.

And then report back.

Worth to mention is that What you see as “error” in the IDE might not be an error in robotframework - if your IDE doesn’t use robotframework’s language server protocol, that IDE relies on its own implementation to parse the syntax and can lead to problems within that IDE, not while really executing your resources.

And finally - I’d personally also start thinking about upgrading python to at least 3.7 but that

1 Like

Thank you very much for your response.

1. I uninstalled selenium2library and installed seleniumLibrary.
    pip install robotframework-seleniumlibrary

The pip list now:
pip (9.0.1)
robotframework (3.2.2)