No "open browser" keyword in seleniumlibrary

Hi there,

I’m new to selenium, after setup new project/suite/testcase & add seleniumlibrary, I can’t find open browser keyword.

Scenario:
C:\Users\wrui\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37>pip list
Package Version

numpy 1.19.2
Pillow 7.2.0
pip 20.2.3
Pygments 2.7.0
Pypubsub 4.0.3
pywin32 228
robotframework 3.2.2
robotframework-pythonlibcore 2.1.0
robotframework-ride 1.7.4.2
robotframework-seleniumlibrary 4.5.0
selenium 3.141.0
setuptools 47.1.0
six 1.15.0
urllib3 1.25.10
wxPython 4.0.7.post2

python 3.7.9

Thanks,

William

That looks like an RIDE and I recall that @HelioGuilherme66 has fixed something similar in some pre release of RIDE.

Yes, it’s RIDE 1.7.4.2. Do you mean I should upgrade to [Robot Framework IDE 2.0b1] and try?

You shoul be using a more powefull IDE than RIDE. I suggest Pycharm with Intellibot plugin.

Yes. Please try the pre-released version.

1 Like

What do you have against RIDE? If the users are not programmers they can use RIDE, because is Tester oriented. And they can open any kind of text files in RIDE’s code editor, if needed.

I am no dev, I am also a tester, I just find that robot scripts are much easier to read than in Ride . Sry if I offended anyone

1 Like

I am no RIDE user also, but i would never recomment PyCharm with IntelliBot!

The robot support in Pycharm is really not good. For Python its a Charm !

For Robot imho the Three good ways woth proper tooling are:

1. VSCode with Robot Framework Language Server
  2. Eclipse with RED
  3. RIDE

The reason why i am not using RIDE is a) because it does not work on my MAC b) i am a Pro with Robot and do not want to touch the mouse while i sm coding, and that is more fluent in ide.
c) it is easier to open other files from where i am, like go to python source of a Keyword or open a json file.

But RIDE has a very good execution support. Better than all others imho.

2 Likes