Is there a library to track new code changes pushed to a webpage?

My developers have a not so fun habit of renaming html names, ids, etc without telling me. So I run my code and it breaks and then I get to hunt through the code to find the changes and update my tests. Is there a library or something to automate finding these changes through some type of code comparison? I’m still a RF and Python newbie but I googled the hell out of it and didn’t find any solutions. Thanks.

Hi Greg,

I’m not aware of any, but before I make some suggestions on how you could deal with it by code I’ll suggest you first try tackling it at an organisational level.

• Start by reviewing your non functional requirements, if there is a anything at all there you can use to defect the constant changing of the ID’s raise a defect.
  • If that fails discuss the matter with your test manager, and see if he can get the business to agree to implement a non functional requirement for constant ID’s that don’t change from release to release, pitch it as a cost saving for the organisation, less time you spend maintaining test scripts allowing testing to finish faster improving quality for the organisation

If all that fails maybe others can offer some more suggestions how to deal development managers to get their team to behave more professionally?

If all else fails then resort to code, assuming you are using SeleniumLibrary and you can navigate to the screens with simple click where is the text of the hyperlink (if the text visible to the user keeps changing without a change request, then this should probably be a functional defect)

• write a keyword (KW1) that takes a list object and a file name as arguments this keyword should create a text file with using the file name and each list item as a single line in the file