SSH via a Jumphost to a router

Hi

I’m new to Robot framework and hope you can help me with a a few questions.

I’m running router tests with robot framework. Normally I’ll connect directly to the router and run the tests, which works fine. But now I have to connect to the router via a jumpserver, which I can’t get to work. I can’t find the right example, perhaps some of you can help?

I need to connect to a jumpserver with a user and a keyfile.
From there I need to ssh to a router and run the tests.

Second,
Would it be possible to extend the test to loop through a list of routers and perform the tests on all of them in one test run? Perforable from a hostfile, where all the routers are listed? It dosen’t matter what format the file is, txt, .py or yaml. Just need the robot code example.

Br,
Anders

Hi Anders,

If you ssh to the jump box then once there running the ssh command on the jump box should be just like running any other command, so rather than trying to connect the SSHLibrary to the router SSHLibrary controls the jump box and the ssh session to the router is just something that happens within that jump box ssh session.

As for the second part,

I’d suggest looking at DataDriven Tests | ROBOT FRAMEWORK, that way each host would be treated as a separate test case.

I’d structure it something like this:

• Suite Startup connects to jump box
  • Test Startup runs ssh command on jump box to connect to the router (unless you want this as a test step)
  • Using DataDriver Library and a test template the number of lines/rows in your datafile determines how many test cases there are
  • Test Teardown exits/disconnects from router’s ssh session (this way you should always be back at the jump box even if the test fails)
  • Suite Teardown logs out of the jump box

Hope that helps,

Dave.

Hi Dave

Thank you for replying.

How do I enter the password when logging into the router?