How to structure a suite setup with multiple .robot-files?

Hello,

I am somewhat new with Robot Framework and I’ve run into something I can’t figure out, I’ve looked around the docs as well but honestly haven’t found what I’m looking for.

Current situation:
I have several .robot-files that’s part of a suite, I have tried and can run the full suite by calling the “top folder” and having the suite setup present in the first .robot that runs and not the others.

However I can’t run the individual .robot-files because of this. The reason I don’t want every robot-file to run a suite setup in a full suite is because it is somewhat complicated, it starts some hardware and creates a couple of bindings and stuff and takes quite a bit of time.

I’m not even sure I’m making sense but in short:
When running the full suite containing several .robot-files, I would like the suite setup to run only once, but I also want the suite setup to run if I decide to run an individual .robot-file in the same suite. How can I achieve this?

Best regards,

Oh I forgot to mention something, an idea I had was to have a bool in the suite setup like “FirstRun” and set it to True when starting the test, and then the setup itself sets it to false. If it is false, the suite setup will skip the keywords that starts the hardware and such.

My idea what that this would make the suite setup run only once, and when running the full suite, the individual .robot files would run the suite setups but since this bool is false after the first run it will skip the suite setup. Does that make sense or is there a better way of doing this?

1 Like

To run a single suite setup (once) for multiple .robot files, you can use the __init__.robot file and define the Suite Setup and Suite Teardownin there.
They will be only executed before the first Test Suite and after the last Test Suite.
See example screenshot below.