About expected timeouts

Hi,

I’m a newb with respect to both Robot Framework.

I’m writing a test procedure that is expected to

connect to another machine
perform an image update (which causes the unit to close all services and reboot itself)
re-connect to the unit
run a command that returns a known string.

This is all supposed to happen within the init.robot module

What I have noticed is that I must invoke the upgrade procedure in a synchronous, or blocking way, like so

Execute Command    sysupgrade upgrade.img

This succeeds in upgrading the unit, but the robotframework script hangs executing the command. I suspect this works because it keeps the ssh session alive long enough for the upgrade to reach a critical junction where the session is closed by the remote host, the upgrade continues and this does not cause the upgrade to fail.

But the remote host appears to close the ssh session in such a way that the robotframework script does not detect it, and the script hangs indefinitely.

Trying to work around this, I tried invoking the remote command like so

Execute Command    sysupgrade upgrade.img &

But then the update fails because the connection appear to drop and leaves the upgrade procedure incomplete.

If instead I execute it like this

Execute Command    sysupgrade upgrade.img &
Sleep    600

Then this also fails, for some reason I am unable to deduce.

However, if I invoke it like this

Execute Command    sysupgrade upgrade.img    timeout=600

The the command succeeds in updating the unit, and after the set timeout period, the robotframework script does indeed resume, but since it has arrived at the timeout, the test has (from the point of view of robotframework) failed.

But this is actually an expected failure, and could be ignored.
The rest of the script would then reconnect to the host and continue the remaining test(s)

Is there a way to treat the timeout condition as non-fatal?