Problem with dbbot-sql

Hello everyone, I am facing an issue with dbbot-sql library that I’m unable to solve. The basic command
python -m dbbot.run atests/testdata/one_suite/test_output.xml

gives me the following error:

File "C:\Users\.....\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python311\Lib\site-packages\dbbot\reader\robot_results_parser.py", line 35, in xml_to_db suite_metadata = list(test_run.suite.metadata.values())[0] ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~^^^ IndexError: list index out of range

The result-parser py file contains this function (last line is 35):

def xml_to_db(self, xml_file, build_number, branch_repo): 
  self._verbose('- Parsing %s' % xml_file) test_run = ExecutionResult(xml_file, 
  include_keywords=self._include_keywords) 
  hash_string = self._hash(xml_file) 
  suite_metadata = list(test_run.suite.metadata.values())[0]

I am not very good at debugging Python so I have not been able to figure out the problem, can anyone give a hint what should I try? Alternatively, is there any other solution to serialize RF output to a mysql database?

Versions used, Python 3.11.4, RF 6.1.1.

xml_file you are passing to xml_to_db is not found. Try passing an absolute path not relative.

EDIT; Nah, that wasn’t it, i was running example code with actual output.xml and not expecting it was there …

This feels like its a bit of compatibility issue … If i execute somewhat similar code with a testsuite that does not have any metadata associated with it - i get same error as you mentioned (different place but same error) …

If i add Metadata into Settings section, code works…

Which definitely feels like the dbbot should handle but its just expecting that there has to something there with [1] on the list …

So, the “fix” would be to add something like this into your suite:

*** Settings ***
Metadata    foo   bar

And then file a bug report to who ever maintains that parser…