"Imported library contains no keywords"

I’m putting this here because I cannot find a RemoteSwingLibrary forum. Nevertheless, the issue presents with multiple libraries. I suspect it’s an installation issue. I looked at PYTHONPATH and everything seems fine, which means something is usually wrong.

I’m running Python 3.9, Jython 2.7.2 and RF 4.1.dev1 on a standalone Windows Server 2019 VM, so getting this far has been a challenge. Looking for possible solutions or suggestion for what to try next.

Thanks!

You mention your problem as the title of your post. This is not enough information. Usually just reporting the error message does not help us to identify the root cause.

Now, I’ll try to guess the cause of the error:
You are importing library RemoteSwingLibrary in your test case, and it reports correctly that it does not contain keywords.

My apologies. I’m new to Robot Framework and to SW test automation, and have never had a problem that caused me to contact a forum. Nevertheless, you are correct. But I’m not running my own scripts. Only attempting to run the demo files to ensure it is all working correctly. In your response you said, “it reports correctly.” Have I misunderstood something in how RF works and how the scripts function?

You did not started on the basics of Robot Framework, but maybe because of the requirements of your task at hand you needed to “jump” to not so usual features of RF.

RemoteLibrary (and its specific implementations) acts like a driver or middleman between a library and the actual RF testing. This was cleverly designed to make possible a RF, programmed in Python, to see libraries keywords created on other languages. For example Java, and in your case from the Swing Java library.