Connect To REST API Basic Example

Hi, I want connect to a bug tracker and post RF test result.
Currently I am doing this via the GUI but it can’t be efficient. I have never tried to connect using an API before so I am unsure programmatically how to start the RF script off using this API code e.g. If I just wanted to log in what parameters + any special libraries I need to connect:

I looked at the API doc for the application (Mantis):

curl --location -g --request GET '{{url}}/api/rest/users/me' \
--header 'Authorization: {{mytoken}}'
curl --location -g --request POST '{{url}}/api/rest/users/' \
--header 'Authorization: {{token}}' \
--header 'Content-Type: application/json' \
--data-raw '{
  "username": "testuser",
  "password": "p@ssw0rd",
}'

Hi Brendan,

The first clue for how to approach this is /api/rest

You could use the requestslibrary, that will work as it basically uses the python native equivelent to curl.

Though an easier option might be RESTinstance as it’s designed specifically for connecting to rest apis.

Dave.

Hi Brendan,

From a quick look at the Mantis docs, it looks like the first thing you’ll need to do is create a authentication token

I was hoping I could knock a quick example from the demo site, but not that easy.

I did also find in the docs that you can switch language to python Requests so that should make using the requests library in Robot framework easier.

Dave.

Hi Dave. I’ve created an auth token.

I’ve looked about for examples of basic RF API/REST interaction but can’t seem to find anything that makes any sense!

Ok I should be going to bed (it’s ~1:30am) I’ll try to build a simple example, based on documentation for RequestsLibrary and the python request example from the mantis docs

*** Settings ***
	Library		RequestsLibrary

*** Variables ***
${MantisToken}		<put your token here>
${MantisServer}		https://your.mantis.server

*** Test Cases ***
Get My User Info
	&{headers}=		Create Dictionary		Authorization=${MantisToken}