Assigning Tests score?

Hi,

I am new to Robot and looking to see if it make senes to assign a score for each test to better quantify the test results. (Instead of just pass and fail)

For instance, we have hostA that is running 20 tests. If hostA fails a critical test versus a minor test, it would both yield a passing score of 19 out of 20 if I logged the test results. However, if I assign a test score for each test result, this would give me a meaningful idea how is hostA doing.

Any thoughts? I have looked into the documentation but couldn’t find much information on exporting and customizing test results.

Hi Leo,

As far as I know in robotframework the only test status’s are Pass Fail and NotRun.

As an option you could use tags, so your critical test cases can be tagged “Critical”, your high Importance test cases “High”, medium and low Importance test cases “Medium” and “Low”, alternatively you could use tags “Importance 1” to “Importance 9” or 001 to 999 however you like as tags are free text.

The result is when you put these tags on your test cases in your default robot test results you get a count of pass failed and skipped for each tag, so you’ll be able to quickly see if the failed test step was a critical test, or a low importance test

Documentation for tagging test cases

Here is an example of statistics by Tag, obviously I use tags differently, but if you if these tags were “Critical”, “High”, “Medium” and “Low” instead of “Column”, “Create”, “Delete”
and “Negative Case”

Hope that helps,

Dave.

Here is an example:

TestScoreExample.robot:

*** Settings ***
Default Tags	Criticality 5

*** Test Cases ***

Test A1
	No Operation

Test A2
	No Operation

Test A3
	No Operation

Test A4
	Fail

Test A5
	No Operation

Test B1
	[Tags]		Criticality 1
	No Operation

Test B2
	[Tags]		Criticality 1
	No Operation

Test C1
	[Tags]		Criticality 9
	No Operation

Test C2
	[Tags]		Criticality 9
	No Operation

Test C4
	[Tags]		Criticality 9
	Fail

@damies13,