Import and pass variables/arguments in Robot (Tricky)

Hey guys, thank you in advance and I’m sorry if my english is not perfect.

I’ve read some parts of Robot doc but I can’t find exactly what I’m looking for. In my project I have a “test descriptor” written in YAML, and we want to pass some variables/arguments (with specific values) to our Robot test. Then this Robot test, in the test cases, should use those variables in some of our python functions.

So, we import our code.py as library, and we want to “read/get/input/whatever it is” from that YAML file, then use those variables in our python methods.

PD: I know you maybe have the idea of passing the variables directly to the Python library, but no, we can’t do that even if it is possible.

Thank you so much again, maybe it is something easy but I’m a bit new in Robot.

I am not sure I understand what you mean to be honest.
Here is how I pass the variables I need when I run the tests

robot --outputdir results --variable ENV:test --variable email:test@tests.com tests/00__GUI_Tests/02__Something.robot

Or when I run the tests using docker, I pass the variables inside the ROBOT_OPTIONS, like this:
docker run --rm
–user $(id -u):$(id -g)
–network=host
-v $PWD/results:/opt/robotframework/results:Z
-v $PWD/tests/:/opt/robotframework/tests:Z
-v $PWD/resources/:/opt/robotframework/resources:Z
-v $PWD/libs/:/opt/robotframework/libs:Z
-e ROBOT_OPTIONS="–variable ENV:local"
ppodgorsek/robot-framework:3.8.0

Both options can be used inside a yml file.
Is this what you mean? Does this help you?

Hey! Thank you so much for your answer. I learned some things from it.

But what I mean is that we already have a YAML file which contains a lot of things, etc etc, AND the values I want as variables in robot.

So I want to read/pass the variables to the robot test, and then use these variables inside test cases for my library functions.